I'm running out of storage in my server..

hello. I need extra storage in my server. I can't afford the storage cost in Linode.. What's the best option I can do to buy some extra cheap storage and attach it in my server?

I'm a newbie in this server thing. please give me some advice.

9 Replies

Buying a larger linode is cheaper than buying extra storage.

Example (assumes prepayment):

Linode 512

16GB storage

$16.96/mth

Linode 512 + 8GB storage

24GB storage

$32.96/mth

(32.96-16.96) / 8 = $2.00/GB for extra storage

Linode 768

24GB storage

$25.46/mth

(25.46 - 16.96) / 8 = $1.06/GB for extra storage

what do you think is cheaper? S3 or upgrading my Linode? And what's the difference between S3's storage and Linode's storage? And are there any significant performance difference between the two?

@rymngh:

what do you think is cheaper? S3 or upgrading my Linode? And what's the difference between S3's storage and Linode's storage? And are there any significant performance difference between the two?

S3 storage is networked storage and I would absolutely not rely on it for anything other than archived content. I have tried numerous times to use S3 as a live filesystem and it's always been rife with performance problems and maintenance headaches. Only use S3 as a repository for storing very, very infrequently needed files, preferably just as a backup/archive mechanism.

Your only option for getting extra storage on a Linode without the hassles of S3 or other networked storage is to buy a bigger Linode. It sucks but it's true.

S3 is ideal for storing backups and static content for websites (i.e. images etc which you can link to directly). If you want a real file system upgrade your linode.

It all depends how you use S3. For infrequently accessed data, it's cheap. For frequently accessed data, it's expensive.