Error 401 only sometimes

Hey,

So I'm running a few websites on a single server with a apache2, php, and mysql configuration. Depending on the connection being used the server either responds with the webpage requested or an error 401 authentication needed. Cell phones are a big one for this: on LTE or 3G connection the website will never load.

Sorry I'm fairly new in this stuff and I don't know which files to even begin to look at for fixing this; especially for the network side of things.

Thanks,

Waddle.

10 Replies

Hey there,

Thank you for reaching out. There can be possibly a few reasons for this, but the best way to help will be to provide us with the domain you are using and the IP address of the server. Also, I would recommend taking a look at your Apache logs to see if there are any errors reported.

Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Stephen Crane…

Linode Customer Support

scrane is right; without more details or log info there's not much we can do to help. I would point out that many cell phones in the U.S. connect via IPv6 if it's available rather than IPv4; you may want to look and see if your site is working properly over both.

Hey,

Currently the two domains being used are muzombies.org and trumanzombies.org. The apache logs say two things:

One, a file /htdocs does not exist

Two, there are a few invalid method in request.

Both of these are for the server in general. When I delve into just the individual websites' error logs the biggest problem seems to be different users are not found. I am fairly certain that this is an entire server problem as both websites do the same thing.

Also, the error 401 authorization does allow the server user name/password combination through to myphpadmin which is set up as the last virtual host in the websites' config files. Could it be that the system routes the clients to the wrong virtual host?

To answer Vance, both IPv6 and IPv4 are configured from what I can tell. The server is listening to ports under each.