Linode Forum
Linode Community Forums
 FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MembersMembers      Register Register 
 LoginLogin [ Anonymous ] 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Disable kdump?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:48 am 
Offline
Senior Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:04 am
Posts: 7
Is it reasonable for me to disable kdump?

My image is deployed from CentOS 7. systemctl shows that kdump.service failed, and "systemctl status kdump" shows "Error: /boot/vmlinuz-4.9.15-x86_64-linode81 not found."

I surmise that kdump needs a copy of the running kernel in /boot and the default CentOS deployment lacks that. The VM config is set to use latest 64-bit kernel.

I don't think it's likely that I'll need to analyze a kernel dump so I'm thinking I should just disable that feature. If I do need it, how would I get a copy of the vmlinuz file to copy to /boot?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Disable kdump?
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 2:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:12 pm
Posts: 126
Quote:
I don't think it's likely that I'll need to analyze a kernel dump so I'm thinking I should just disable that feature. If I do need it, how would I get a copy of the vmlinuz file to copy to /boot?
Try installing the distro provided kernel and select GRUB2 as the "kernel" in the Configuration Profile section of Linode panel control.
Then your grub.cfg will be used, which in turn will make your installed kernel the one to be used, not the one provided externally by Linode.

This seems a leftover from Xen to me. Since we have already switched to KVM, it would be more "mainstream" if Linode used the distro provided kernel by default.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Disable kdump?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:30 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 4:47 pm
Posts: 127
Website: https://Feliciano.Tech
Location: New York City, USA
Twitter: FelicianoTech
Quote:
This seems a leftover from Xen to me. Since we have already switched to KVM, it would be more "mainstream" if Linode used the distro provided kernel by default.
That's a great point. Personally, I use distro-supplied kernels in all of my servers right now. Maybe it's just in my head but I feel like the distro would run better, or at least, more stable, that way.

_________________
U.S. Navy Sailor and Developer Evangelist at CircleCI (formerly Linode). Write the Docs NYC organizer. Mets fan for life. Building the Linodians community.

Follow me on Twitter @FelicianoTech.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
RSS

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group