Linode Forum
Linode Community Forums
 FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MembersMembers      Register Register 
 LoginLogin [ Anonymous ] 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 4:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:56 pm
Posts: 94
Website: https://www.ingber.com
Location: Oregon
Facebook: lester.ingber
I want to simply replace my current Linode with my backup (I'm paying for the Backup service). I have read https://www.linode.com/docs/security/ba ... p-service/ .

Under my current Linode I see
Storage
Total: 49152 MB
Used: 49152 MB
Free: 0 MB

When I look at Edit on my 2 partitions
Swap Image (2048 MB, swap)
Ubuntu 64bit Disk Image (47104 MB, ext3)
I see New Size the same as the size I currently have on both partitions.

However, when I go to Backups -> Daily Backup -> Restore to ..., I see
Disks
Swap Image (swap) – 2048MB/2048MB
Ubuntu 64bit Disk Image (ext3) – 39140MB/47104MB
Total size required 41188 MB
but I see
-- not enough free space --
under Select.

How can I simply replace my current Linode with last night's backup? This should not be complicated? Isn't that at least one of the features of a Backup service?

P.S.:
I finally confirmed that it is fine to Remove current disks, and restore a Backup to that Linode. Some Support said no, that I had to expand into a new larger Linode before restoring. The point is to make sure you have a backup of info just after your last backup.

_________________
https://www.ingber.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:47 am
Posts: 1
I have met the same problem with you,but why no answer from the linode.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:16 pm 
Offline
Linode Staff

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:14 pm
Posts: 22
Quote:
I have met the same problem with you,but why no answer from the linode.
Hey there! With restoring backups to a Linode, you need to make sure there is enough free space. Restoring a backup doesn't delete the disk that is there already, so if you are certain you don't want the old information you can delete or resize the disks already present on the Linode before restoring the backup to that Linode. You can read more about this here: https://www.linode.com/docs/platform/li ... ing-linode

Alternatively, you can restore the backup to a fresh Linode as well. And then if you need after that, you can swap out the IP addresses. You can read more about this here:

https://www.linode.com/docs/platform/li ... new-linode
https://www.linode.com/docs/networking/ ... -addresses

Hope this helps!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 81 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
RSS

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group