Installing SSL Cert on Linode server for subdomain

Hello! Stupid web server newbie here; So my client has a domain for an online store, the cert for it is non-wildcard through BigCommerce; the domain is provided/hosted by GoDaddy.com

In the DNS settings we have an A record named 'share' that points to our Linode web server.

On our store we have a page that has an iframe whose src points to a php script over at the Linode webserver, right now connection is refused when the store is set to site wide SSL even though the src URL has been edited to HTTPS.

Presumably there is either no cert on the Linode server, or something is wrong that I have no idea what I'm doing about but this is the only thing I have to go on at the moment.

If I/my client purchase's a cert for the Linode server, will that presumably fix the issue of the connection bring refused for the iframe?

17 Replies

Why don't you hit that iframe url on your browser, to see what happens? Obviously it has to be an HTTPS request, otherwise it won't work as an iframe of another HTTPS page, mixed content pages (as they are called) are blocked by all serious browsers (Firefox, Opera, Chrome, etc). Look at the debug console, it should say the error that prevents the iframe from loading.

As a side note, why pay for a certificate? that fiasco ended a long time ago and now certificates are free! Take a look here as an example.

Originally when it was HTTP it was blocked as being a mixed content request.

Now that the URL is https nothing shows up in console, the iframe just shows up as Unable to Connect (Firefox), and Refused to Connect (Chrome).

If I put in the url, http://share.majestydiamonds.com/tell.php it works. If I try it with HTTPS it doesn't connect.

I just assumed based on experience you pay for certs for business websites; would a free one work?

You need a valid and matching certificate, just replacing http with https won't work if the certificate is not there or if its not correct.