Linode Forum
Linode Community Forums
 FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MembersMembers      Register Register 
 LoginLogin [ Anonymous ] 
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: DNS Manager Suggestion
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:34 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:59 pm
Posts: 27
Website: http://ultramookie.com
Location: interwebs
I was managing my DNS today and getting rid of an A record. When I click Delete, I get this confirmation:

===

DNS Manager

Edit Domain - "xxxxx.com" - Edit Resource Record
Are you sure you want to delete this A record?

====

It would be very helpful for the confirmation page to include the name of the A record that is going to be deleted -- as a way to help the end-user really know that he's doing the right thing. As it is, I could be confirming the deletion of the A record above or below the one I really want -- if I had clicked the wrong one, that is.

_________________
http://ultramookie.com/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 9:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Newbie

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 18
I was managing my DNS today (like ultramonkey), adding a bunch of MX Records (google's)
Adding 7 MX records for each domain with Linode DNS Manager is really painful :) That'll be good if you people add an add more action using ajax for each "Add a new X record" pages

Thanks
K.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 1:12 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:19 am
Posts: 336
A vote for both of those!

Although adding the 7 MX records for Google at Linode is still better than GoDaddy, Pair, PairNIC and zoneedit.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 7:54 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 3:30 pm
Posts: 341
Website: http://markwalling.org
http://blog.pathennessy.org/2008/12/08/ ... ogle-apps/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 9:10 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:19 am
Posts: 336
Very cool! Thanks for sharing. I'll be using this for the 4 domains I'll ultimately be bringing over to Linode.

Still wish the interface would get a bit more ajaxified :D

For example if you want to delete 2 records, it's 4 page reloads. It would be nice if you clicked remove, then a dialog box just popped up to confirm, then that entry just goes away if you click Yes. No full page reload.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 11:56 am 
Offline
Senior Newbie

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 18
Perl & Phyton examples are great!
Thanks mwalling.

Maybe i'll write some code with php using Linode API.
When i get over my laziness!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 4:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 687
Another alternative would be to set up your Linode as the authoritative for the relevant zone(s), and set the Linode DNS as slaves. They could still be the NS machines for the zone(s), to avoid your Linode being a single point of failure, but it would let you administer the DNS zone however you might like, and with whatever tools or custom code, locally on your Linode.

-- David


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 6:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Newbie

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 18
David, thanks for the info. Thats another good idea.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:57 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:10 am
Posts: 71
Website: http://attilab.com/
Quote:
I was managing my DNS today and getting rid of an A record. When I click Delete, I get this confirmation:

===

DNS Manager

Edit Domain - "xxxxx.com" - Edit Resource Record
Are you sure you want to delete this A record?

====

It would be very helpful for the confirmation page to include the name of the A record that is going to be deleted -- as a way to help the end-user really know that he's doing the right thing. As it is, I could be confirming the deletion of the A record above or below the one I really want -- if I had clicked the wrong one, that is.
Totally agree. Usually I am managing my domains with care, but it improves usability a bit.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:23 pm
Posts: 415
Website: http://jedsmith.org/
Location: Out of his depth and job-hopping without a clue about network security fundamentals
Try it again. Is that better?

_________________
Disclaimer: I am no longer employed by Linode; opinions are my own alone.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:10 am
Posts: 71
Website: http://attilab.com/
Quote:
Try it again. Is that better?
Absolutely, thanks!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:49 pm
Posts: 96
Website: http://www.arbitraryconstant.com/
Quote:
Another alternative would be to set up your Linode as the authoritative for the relevant zone(s), and set the Linode DNS as slaves. They could still be the NS machines for the zone(s), to avoid your Linode being a single point of failure, but it would let you administer the DNS zone however you might like, and with whatever tools or custom code, locally on your Linode.
++

When Linode first set this up, the zone transfers could lag a fair amount and AXFR was open to everyone. Now you'll typically be updated within a few seconds of sending out the notifies and AXFR can be closed. I'm even doing reverse DNS for my IPv6 /48 with this. It works quite well.

The web interface is probably easier for simple or infrequently updated zones, my main reason for doing zone transfers is a dynamic zone.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:47 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:54 pm
Posts: 833
Quote:
Quote:
Another alternative would be to set up your Linode as the authoritative for the relevant zone(s), and set the Linode DNS as slaves. They could still be the NS machines for the zone(s), to avoid your Linode being a single point of failure, but it would let you administer the DNS zone however you might like, and with whatever tools or custom code, locally on your Linode.
When Linode first set this up, the zone transfers could lag a fair amount and AXFR was open to everyone. Now you'll typically be updated within a few seconds of sending out the notifies and AXFR can be closed. I'm even doing reverse DNS for my IPv6 /48 with this. It works quite well.
This works well, with one caveat; your Linode is still the single point of failure for updating the zone. If, for example, you have two linodes (or a virtual server elsewhere... blasphemy!) with the second one acting as a warm standby then if your linode dies you won't be able to do the DNS changes required to send people to the standby.

If this doesn't concern you then what David described is a good configuration.

_________________
Rgds
Stephen
(Linux user since kernel version 0.11)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:40 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:32 pm
Posts: 222
Website: https://www.barkerjr.net
Location: Connecticut, USA
How I get around that is I make both of my nodes be masters. You can set many masters in the DNS manager. This way, it will fetch the zone from either.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:44 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: Rochester, New York
Quote:
The web interface is probably easier for simple or infrequently updated zones, my main reason for doing zone transfers is a dynamic zone.
Dynamic, you say? :-)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
RSS

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group