Linode Forum
Linode Community Forums
 FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MembersMembers      Register Register 
 LoginLogin 
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: whois -> ERROR:201 ??
PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 10:36 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:56 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Oregon
Are Linode.com VPSs considered a "pool" of some kind when using the RIPE database?

I use whois perhaps 1 or 2 times a day, but now I'm seeing:

[tcsh_COMMAND_line]% whois [MY_LOOKUP_ADDRESS_XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX]
% This is the RIPE Database query service.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% The RIPE Database is subject to Terms and Conditions.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/support/db-terms-conditions.pdf

%ERROR:201: access denied for [MY_IPv6_ADDRESS]
%
% Sorry, access from your host has been permanently
% denied because of a repeated excessive querying.
% For more information, see
% http://www.ripe.net/data-tools/db/faq/f ... ess-denied

% This query was served by the RIPE Database Query Service version 1.68.1 (WHOIS1)

_________________
http://www.ingber.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 1:08 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 557
ingber wrote:
Are Linode.com VPSs considered a "pool" of some kind when using the RIPE database?

Yes. Linode mainly allocates IPs from one /64 per data center. Given how easy it is for an abusive user to get hold of a /64 -- or more -- to churn through, it's unfortunately common for large blocks to be banned with little excuse.

RIPE has done this before. You can pop off an email to the address at the link RIPE gave you, or file a ticket and Linode could do the same. It should be resolved quickly.

Unless, of course, you actually *are* abusing them somehow.

Edit: Consider requesting your own /64 from Linode. It will help prevent you from getting caught in abuse-related crossfire.

_________________
Matt Nordhoff (aka Peng on IRC)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:26 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:56 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Oregon
Matt:

Thanks for the advice. Linode support was helpful as usual.

Lester

_________________
http://www.ingber.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:58 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:56 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Oregon
Matt:

Getting an added full IPv6 block didn't work, as my primary IPv6 address is still taking precedence, e.g.,

% whois IPv4_lookup
% This is the RIPE Database query service.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% The RIPE Database is subject to Terms and Conditions.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/support/db-terms-conditions.pdf

%ERROR:201: access denied for my_Primary_IPv6
%
% Sorry, access from your host has been permanently
% denied because of a repeated excessive querying.
% For more information, see
% http://www.ripe.net/data-tools/db/faq/f ... ess-denied

% This query was served by the RIPE Database Query Service version 1.68.1 (WHOIS2)


Linode Support said to use one of the fixes you cited in another message, viewtopic.php?t=8525 , using preferred_lft 0. When this didn't work, Support gave up and told me to post my info here. My /etc/network/interfaces file is now a product of input from several Support people, e.g., putting everything under static, adding my primary IPv6 address, etc.

cat /etc/network/interfaces
# The loopback interface
# The loopback interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# Configuration for eth0 and aliases

# This line ensures that the interface will be brought up during boot.
auto eth0

# eth0 - This is the main IP address that will be used for most outbound connections.
# The address, netmask and gateway are all necessary.
iface eth0 inet static
address my_IPv4
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway my_IPv4_gateway
up /sbin/ip -6 addr add my_new_IPv6_block/64 dev eth0
down /sbin/ip -6 addr del my_new_IPv6_block/64 dev eth0
up /sbin/ip -6 addr add my_Primary_IPv63/64 dev eth0 preferred_lft 0
down /sbin/ip -6 addr del my_Primary_IPv63/64 dev eth0
dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4 2001:4860:4860::8888 2001:4860:4860::8844

## changed order of ip -6 line and dns-nameservers to add ipv6's, but in opposite order from resolv.conf (link using resolvconf program) to be on safe side. Added preferred_lft 0 to primary IPv6 to not use it as default.

I tried with and without the "down" lines, rebooting each time.

_________________
http://www.ingber.com


Last edited by ingber on Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:56 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Oregon
I looked at https://tools.bitfolk.com/wiki/IPv6 and changed the ordering of the ipv6 addresses. This works, at least for now.

I assume you are using the "down" lines to avoid problems when shutting down a host with multiple IP's?

Also, do you bother to register additional IPv6 addresses in your DNS. E.g., Linode has set up my new block to link to the old one, as seen under my Remote Access:

Public IP Pools my_new_IPv6_block/64 routed to my_Primary_IPv6

Lester

_________________
http://www.ingber.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
RSS

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group