Cant login to SSH, SFTP all off a sudden

Hello,

I had been using linode successfully for the last 3 months. From a few hours, I am not able to login through SSH via putty. After I enter the username and password, putty throws a pop up error, Server connection closed unexpectedly.

Also when I try from filezilla, I get an error

Error: Connection timed out

Error: Could not connect to server

I had managed to login to putty and ftp about 16 hours ago. From about 8-10 hours I am facing this problem. I contacted the linode support, who tried a few things and finally said, your linode must be misconfigured. They asked me to post here for answers. Hope someone helps me out. And by the way , I havent made any changes in configuration of linode.

Thanks in advance.

97 Replies

Have you made any firewall changes?

I would reboot you're Linode maybe the ssh service stopped for some reason.

Hello Kyre,

There have been no firewall changes. Moreover I have tried logging in from some other machine as well on a different network.

I have also tried rebooting the Linode, but it was of no good.

Lish - The Linode Shell

We've all done it at some point. Messed with your network settings and can't get into your Linode? No worries - Lish is your virtual console. Lish's primary function is to allow you access to your server's console, even if networking is disabled.

@ > Hello,

I contacted the linode support, who tried a few things and finally said, your linode must be misconfigured. They asked me to post here for answers.

Interesting

:!:

@kyrunner

Yes even I was little suprised by Linode support's answer.

And regarding the Lish shell. Yes it indeed works. I could use it instead of putty. I tried using it to troubleshoot the problem. However my major concern is, I cant login to using filezilla. I have constant code changes to be updated, which I am currently not able to do.

@ > @kyrunner

Yes even I was little suprised by Linode support's answer.